Hello good people. This is the first addition to the Thoughtz from tha veteran blog. I can think of no topic that has more need of exploration than the one I present to you now. You see I am 40 years old and a proud member of that era’s hip hop generation. That is the problem so to speak, that era’s hip hop generation is older now. Older, but not out of the game. I am here to join us all together and provide if nothing else, a place to voice our confusion? denial? love? nostalgic rememberences? of the good old dayz as well as a forum for us to figure out how to exist in this era’s generation with our new realities and responsibilities.

Some may be thinking, “what’s the problem? I have all of my old school jointz and I play them in the car or when the kids are sleep” or some other closeted form of enjoying what you once lived for. I am saying that for me and I am sure many others..that itself is the problem. I bought my ex wife two tickets to the “men of soul” concert for her birthday the other day. The men of soul concert is where I, as a grown up, should be gettin my salt and pepper shimmy on. That I can think of no other evening that would appeal to me less causes me some inner discomfort. And the worst part is that it has nothing to do with the artist per se. Jeffery Osbourne, Howard Hewitt, Freddie Jackson, and Peabo Bryson are all talented, accomplished artist that I respect and admire. The problem is they are not the primary soundtrack of my youth. They were on the fringe. And I did not live for the fringe..I lived for the core. That core still drives me today. I love shell toes. I love puma’s. I love sweat suits. I like suits. I like dress shoes. I love hip hop. I like the “men of soul”.

How does a non teen or twenty something year old male pick up a date rocking the new E-40 album? Or god forbid, The Clipse-which is in constant play in my car? You must admit it says a lot. I like what it says because that’s who I’ve always been but I do recognize the ability to polarize or even ostracize that is in lockstep with those music choices as a divorced father with kidz. In 50’s new book with Robert Greene “The 50th Law”he states, “the biggest fear people have is the fear of being themselves” I believe that is a true statement. And I try to stay on guard to make sure I’m not doing what I’m supposed to be doing per societal rules…to a degree. I mean we must have the basics in place: shelter-check, transportation-check, employment-check, vices either gone with the passage of youth or non self destructing-check, car insurance-check, you get the idea. But after that, those of us who grew up listening to Run Dmc in the era of Run Dmc should not have to file those away and proclaim we listen to Rev Run with the same fire in the belly appreciation.

Now, I’m not stating that we need to disregard the age old wisdom of “a time and a place” for everything. I just want to know when is the time? Where is our place? I do not want to be nostalgic. That to me is the kiss of death. Conversely, the thought of going to a gang infested super hip hop concert today is far from appealing. Yes, I just made a very large and broad and possibly foul generalized concert statement as pertains to “super” hip-hop concerts. But, to be clear, I know of what I speak. I attended a Mack 10, E-40, Ice Cube concert many moons ago and a couple of things happened. Number 1, I was blown away by Cubes ability to recite all of his verses and run around the stage end to end for his entire performance. As a retired MC myself I can appreciate what it takes to get that done. Number 2, E-40 was and is one of the most underrated rappers in the game. Number 3, I knew someone was gonna get knocked the fuck out! I was there with my latin homeboy and a white girl from South Africa that I was trying to personally end apartheid with. The gang count was thru tha roof. I didn’t give a shit. I grew up on 33rd and Market street in Southeast San Diego. Didn’t faze me in tha least. I knew how to navigate that environment. And if I’m honest here, the element of just under the surface possible danger made the beats bang harder.The rhymes crisper. The night was alive and undetermined. Anything could happen. Everything could happen. That’s why we went, no?

But my friends that was four apartments, many jobs, one marriage, one divorce, three kids and a lost mortgage ago. I’m not a child. I like to see people get knocked tha fuck out now on pay per view. But I still love that music. I still get a physical reaction to the music. I played “Rebel without a Pause” in my house the other day and for three minutes I lost my mind. I was inside of that music. I didn’t even really know what to do with myself. Other than rapping along…loudly. Jumping up and down searching for a way to express the perfection of that song. I’m not giving that up for the “Men of Soul” tour just because the latter is age appropriate! In the wordz of Whitney..”hell to the no”. So where does that leave me/us? That is the question maybe one of you can answer. What the hell do we do? and Where tha hell do we do it?

Until next time peace,

DamnUniqueThaVeteran